# School of Population and Public Health Sustainability Committee

# **Terms of Reference**

## **Purpose**

To promote active practices of sustainability in the School of Population and Public Health as outlined in the University of British Columbia's Place and Promise 2012 Strategic plan <a href="http://strategicplan.ubc.ca/files/2009/11/UBC-PP-Layout-Aug2012.pdf">http://strategicplan.ubc.ca/files/2009/11/UBC-PP-Layout-Aug2012.pdf</a>. The committee has a goal to work towards making the SPPH building the first zero waste building on campus. The committee will achieve this goal by promoting environmentally responsible practices throughout the building. The Committee will provide campus-specific guidance to the SPPH community on sustainability initiatives instituted by UBC.

#### **Objectives**

- 1. To foster a knowledge and understanding of principles of sustainability within the SPPH community;
- 2. To provide leadership in raising awareness among building occupants of the benefits of a zero waste future;
- 3. To engage SPPH occupants in the sustainability process;
- 4. To develop recommendations, guidelines and policies for use by the SPPH community which promote, encourage and enable sustainability practices;
- 5. To increase awareness and understanding of in-house and on-campus sustainability initiatives and opportunities by disseminating information and holding information sessions:
- 6. To disseminate information to the UBC community at large by representing SPPH through presentations (for example, presenting at the UBC Sustainability office lunch and learn sessions), participating on sustainability panel discussions and assisting other UBC units in their sustainability initiatives as needed.

# Membership

The Sustainability Committee is made up of SPPH faculty and staff representatives, from each floor, as listed below:

**Co-Chairs**: Karen Bartlett – faculty

Linda Bonamis - staff

#### **Members**:

Katherine Came - staff
Jacqueline Carpio - staff
Jasmyn Conkin - staff
Erica Frank - faculty
Avital Jarus-Hakak - staff
Matty Jeronimo - staff
Mieke Koehoorn - faculty
Denis Laplante - staff
Lydia Ma - faculty
Abigail Torrijos - staff

### **Meetings**

Meetings are held at least once a quarter, or as deemed necessary.